St. Mary's County Government

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

Senate Bill 198 - Transportation - Consolidated Transportation Program - Prioritization (Transportation Investment Priorities Act of 2025) OPPOSE

February 25, 2025

The Honorable Guy Guzzone, Chairman Budget and Taxation Committee 3 West, Miller Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: SB 198 - Transportation - Consolidated Transportation Program - Prioritization (Transportation Investment Priorities Act of 2025)

Dear Chairman Guzzone:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County OPPOSE Senate Bill 198 - Transportation - Consolidated Transportation Program - Prioritization (Transportation Investment Priorities Act of 2025) which is being heard in the Budget and Taxation Committee.

We urge an unfavorable report on Senate Bill 198. We do not support the introduction of this legislation as written and do not believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/032

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey
Delegate Todd Morgan
Delegate Matthew Morgan
Delegate Brian Crosby
Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.
Commissioner Eric Colvin
Commissioner Michael Hewitt
Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
David Weiskopf, County Administrator
David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator
Buffy Giddens, County Attorney
John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 *1350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • <u>www.stmaryscountymd.gov</u> • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV